As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technology, by definition, is the application of scientific knowledge to the practical aims of human life and is indeed burgeoning. I disagree with the claim that human dependence on technology will make their thinking ability debilitate. Rather, technology fosters critical thinking in humans as the development and implementation of technology requires a lot of research and human control.

First, Technology has taken up lots of mundane jobs leaving us with time to engage in more critical thinking. Describing a typical day, a hypothetical worker leaves home to his workspace in a car. There is a high chance that he will use the computer to carry out some tasks and make out time to communicate with the family he left at home. On the other hand, without technology, it will take more time to move from the house to the workplace, exhausting to manually carry out some tasks, and even almost impossible to communicate with the family at home while at work.

Second, the development and implementation of technology require critical thinking. For example, the recent global pandemic, Covid-19 has been managed so far through the inventions of vaccines that is helpful in suppressing the virus. Several research was undertaken and the results were tested before the approval of these vaccines.

In conclusion, people's reliance on technology to solve problems does not debilitate human ability to think for themselves rather, it frees up more time to think critically and also creative thinking is necessary for the development and implementation of technology. However, everyday technologies such as calculators have the ability to decrease our ability to perform simple calculations, a "use it or lose it'' approach to thinking ability.