The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies

released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While it may be true that a reduction in operating cost is necessary In order to reverse the recent decline in profits, at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores, the author's argument does not make a cogent case for a reduction in operating cost in other to increase profit. It is easy to understand that Profit will increase with a reduction in expenses, but the argument is rife with holes and assumptions and therefore not strong enough to lead to an increase in profit.

Firstly, it was assumed that what is applicable at the store in downtown Marston will be applicable to the other nine stores. Certainly, this is a big assumption and if not thoroughly examined will eventually lead to a reverse of the desired outcome. It was stated that the Martson store downtown now closes at 6 pm rather than the usual 9. pm, However, the outcome of this massive reduction in opening time was not stated. It will be necessary to know what the outcome of this reduction in opening time was for the Martson store downtown. Also, assuming the outcome was favorable, it is not certain that there will be the same outcome in the nine other stores. For example, People in other locations of the store might prefer to rent a video from 6 p.m and not later. It will be necessary to know what the 'rush hour' ( that is, a time when more people rent videos) is for the various stores. If the rush hour is more between 6 pm to 9 pm, then implementing this policy will not be effective to lead to an increased profit, and as such the recommendation is weakened.

Secondly, it was stated that a reduction in stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago would eventually lead to an increment in profit. As tempting as this may seem, it will be necessary to know the proportion of people who rents current videos are in relative to people who rent videos released more than five years. Until this question is answered, the argument is weakened as customers will go and find some other stores that still have the videos in stock and this will certainly translate to more decrease in profit.

In conclusion, the hasty decision should not be made so as not to ultimately jeopardize the entire company as the above questions are yet to be answered. Until these questions are responded to, the recommendation is weakened.