The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of

video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at

Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising

our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown

Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than

9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years

ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering

great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine

Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to

decide whether implementing the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result and

explain how the answers to those questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author here tries to come up with a new method to reduce the operating costs at the Movies Galore renting facilities and claims that early closing time and reducing collections can help achieve the same across all the branches. Stating that this has helped them reduce the costs for the downtown Marston facility and might help at other outlets as well, shows that they fail to mention several key factors, also reveal several instances of poor reasoning, and distorts the view of the situation by manipulating the facts and providing weak claims. To garner support, they suggest it worked in a downtown store, hence the few changes to the store timings and movie collections can be trusted in all branches. However further scrutiny of the evidence will reveal that it provides little credible support for the author’s claims. Hence the overall argument seems incomplete and unsubstantiated.

Firstly, the author’s largest leap is when they state that the changes have reduced the operational costs significantly, but they fail to mention whether the store is still profitable or not. If even after all of this, the stores remain in debt, then it weakens the arguments quite substantially, on the other hand if they show a positive and hopeful rise and it will bolster their claims as well. In accordance with this, one might also think that what works in downtown Marston, has no guarantee of working in other places as well as it did there. Thus, for a better shot at increasing the profits the store owners should have an ehaustive discussion with the customers, as to what time or what genre and type of movies would best suit them and come up with a strategy to change timings/collections accordingly. For maximum revenue increase, this study needs to be done before implementing any changes at any franchise outlet. Say, Movie’s Galore outlet in Mumbai tries to shut shop at 6 pm, then it might even kill the little sales they had as most of the working professionals tend to leave offices after 7 pm, and renting movies would have been quite tedious. Or, they open up a store in a senior citizen dominated part of town and stop having older movies, then how are they expected to make high sales numbers there?

Secondly, if Movies Galore prides itself in renting movies at a low price, then they should attempt at increasing the total cart amount per customer. They can manage to acheive this, by slightly increasing the prize for solo movies, but create lucrative offers for multiple CD’s at the same time, causing the customer to be lured in by the offer and buy something they initially didn’t want. This can help them keep the motto alive while increasing their revenue significantly. Finally, before concluding, most of the people working at such stores usually part time shifts, thus decreasing the time can cause a decrease in their pay. Causing them to take other jobs and cause a stress on their mental and physical health over a longer period.

While the argument put forward by the researcher, is quite innovative and interesting, the data presented could have been more exhaustive in order to convince the reader. In conclusion, the author’s arguments seem unpersuasive and to make bolster their claims, the author should have more concrete evidence and analysis for to determine the hypothesis is the best to reduce the costs for Movies Galore.