The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author here tries to come up with arguments to support his hypothesis that opening up a jazz club in the city of Monroe is a great economic decision and it will be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Stating, that over a 100k people usually visit their annual jazz festival and nearest club is 65 miles away, shows that they fail to mention several key factors, also reveal several instances of poor reasoning, and distorts the view of the situation by manipulating the facts and providing weak claims. To garner support, they also that the city claims to habituate several well-known jazz performers and profligate jazz enthusiasts. However further scrutiny of the evidence will reveal that it provides little credible support for the author’s claims. Hence the overall argument seems incomplete and unsubstantiated.

Firstly, the biggest leap by the author is to claim that a jazz club in Monroe will be a profitable enterprise, without showing any proofs or due diligence to compare it with other businesses in the city. Had the author mentioned about the return of investments, profitability index or some capital recovery models in his argument, then that would have made strong case for his theories. In accordance with that, the author provided underwhelming proof to show that the citizens of Monroe are actually staunch followers of jazz by failing to deliver an adequate barometer to judge the facts presented in his argument. For example, they say that over 100k people visit the festival or $1,000 is spent annually by a jazz fan, but they forget to give a yardstick to measure whether 100K is a huge hit or huge miss when compared to other regions in the country. The author also fails to mention, whether the annual spending of Monroe based jazz fan is even comparable to the annual average or not. Furthermore, a study and interview need to done with the nearest jazz club, as to why they never thought of expanding into the city, despite the immense potential in Monroe.

Secondly, they mention that many of the famous jazz performers live in Monroe, but they overlook the details as to how many of them stay in the city for a considerable amount of time, for it to be called their hometown. To give an instance, most of the Formula-1 drivers, usually stay out of Monaco, but they actually stay in the city for over a month through the year. Thus, even if Monaco is the home for them, they are quite itinerant.

Finally, before concluding, the author also tends to claim that the highest rated jazz program is aired on the weekends at 7 pm. To help them bolster their claims, the author should conduct studies comparing the airtime vs the new people interested in jazz or the listenership vs the increase in average spends over jazz etc. All in all, an exhaustive and sturdy research is required to eliminate any inadequacies before choosing any area to open a club.

While the argument put forward by the researcher, is quite innovative and interesting, the data presented could have been more exhaustive in order to convince the reader. In conclusion, the author’s arguments seem unpersuasive and to make bolster their claims, the author should have more concrete evidence and analysis for to determine the hypothesis is suitable to open a jazz club in Monroe.