A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The researcher here has tried to come up with a new method for reducing the headaches among people of Mentia and claims to add salicylates as a preservative in foods to help reduce the headaches. Stating that salicylates are of the same chemical family as aspirin(which is used to cure headaches) and it is also present naturally in many foods already, the author here is advising to add them in processed food commercially. While doing this they fail to mention several key factors, also reveal several instances of poor reasoning, and distorts the view of the situation by manipulating the facts and providing weak claims. To garner support for their claims, the say salicylates can be effective cause they are naturally present in food and they are of the same chemical family to aspirin, which is a renowned headache relief medication. However further scrutiny of the evidence will reveal that it provides little credible support for the author’s claims. Hence the overall argument seems incomplete and unsubstantiated.

Firstly, the author’s largest leap seems to be when they try to say that being from the same chemical family is enough for salicylates to have the same advantages and minimal side effects as aspirin. The author should put in an exhaustive study to find whether these healing properties actually exist in salicylates. If they are actually carried in the family, then it does make a stronger case for the author to help reduction of headache cases. Along with this another major concern with the argument is the dosage and side-effects of unsolicited medication in your food. Doctors usually prescribe medication after checking with the severity of ailment, history of the patient and other pre-existing medical conditions to avoid any complications and patient safest care possible. When the companies add the salicylates without looking into these factors, then chances of side-effects and other health-conditions can increase, further increasing a load on the ER of the hospitals of Mentia (a load which we had ought to reduce by doing this step). Secondly, any medication has a limit till which it should be consumed in a day/week or fortnight to stay effective, but if we start adding it in processed food, then having a control on that amount will become very tedious and an impossible job. This will also cause a rise in the complications in the patient’s body, further making them more ill than they actually were.

Furthermore, say salicylates actually passes all the tests and starts getting added to the processed foods in Mentia, there will come a time when it might have been consumed in such a high quantity that the body might have gotten immunized to the acid. Thus, we might be back to the original “headache” of finding a new medication with possibly a higher dose(more harmful for regular consumption) starts again.

Finally, before concluding, further extensive tests are required by the author’s team to make sure the salicylates actually do not go onto react with other amino acids in food. A thorough study is required to check into the amount of salicylates consumed vs the efficacy for the body or the amount consumed vs mental health, metabolism, stamina etc. After doing all this and exhausting every possible side effect, no matter how small, should the companies be allowed to add salicylates as a preservative to their food.

While the argument put forward by the researcher, is quite innovative and interesting, the data presented could have been more exhaustive in order to convince the reader. In conclusion, the author’s arguments seem unpersuasive and to make bolster their claims, the author should have more concrete evidence and analysis for to determine the hypothesis is the best method to approach studies of new group of people.