Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both views presented.

The biggest barometer for a city’s successful finances and economic regulations in this age is the corporate portfolio it hosts in their jurisdiction, thus when these companies with this high value, start acting towards society and environmental needs, changes will start becoming evident soon than one can imagine. Here the topic suggests thar corporates have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the society and environment which they operate in. Personally, I completely agree with the corporations exercising their resources for the help of the communities but the “responsibility” part of enforcing it on them is where I have my reservations. Thus, I agree with the statement on the corporations helping their environment but the all or nothing attitude around it seems to be excessive.

Firstly, despite getting all the relaxations from the government corporates, corporates do not usually value the environment or society, and are ready to let them have the bullet for the chance of earning an extra nickel. Thus, when corporates will start increasing their outreach to the community and increase their CSR activities, it can begin a two-way street of showing trust and care. The corporates more often the not have the budgets, in order to cause some meaningful change in people’s lives. If there is something, that the recent pandemic taught us, it is that finally it us humans that are of the utmost help to each other in the time of crisis and keeping everybody around you healthy will be your best chance at a healthy life. Secondly, corporates are a perfect example of amalgamation of cultures, and with good intent they can cause major difference in bringing light to and ameliorate major sociological problems like race, gender disparity etc. Say, a company X, brings in a policy to hire equal people among all genders, or have a plan for strategically hire people among various races and socio-economic levels. Then all the company still has to do is search for a talented candidate, but in disguised way will be of help to the society by at large.

Furthermore, on the environmental issues, the corporates receive so much from the environment around them, thus some nurture and care back should be part of their CSR activities. Companies come in a position of leverage with most governments, so if they get invested in the environment, they can cause a major up heal in the ongoing environment crisis around the world. Meanwhile to show short term support, they can organize easy to do activities like tree plantation, beach cleaning, streets cleaning, stadium cleaning etc to reduce the load on using labour. To aide that, within their own premises, small starts like recyclable cutlery, lessen the energy usage in their office, carpooling etc can also cause significant impact on wastage of resources.

Finally, before concluding, even though most of the statement has many positive aspects to make you consider it, but that can be done only if we are aware of the shortcomings of the “all or nothing” tone of the statement. It is a cut-throat market out there, and it is not any company’s responsibility to help everyone along their way. This is the exact reasons many governments and non-profit organisations usually exist. As long as these companies stay within the legal limits and don’t cause direct/indirect harm, they should be allowed to operate at peace.

In conclusion, corporates helping with the environment will really help fleet the process, and help achieve tangible results in shorter amount of time, but they shouldn’t be forced or made be held responsible to forcefully help the community around them.