The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

"In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores."

Owner of Movies Galore in his memorandum concludes that if they want to reduce their losses they should reduce the operating expenses at the rental stores. To prove his point, the owner mention about the store in downtown Marston which had reduce their operating expense by closing the shops early. However, the argument made by the owner rests on series of assumptions that are illogical and unpersuasive. This would be proved in the following essay.

First, the owner mentions that there is a decrease in profits. But, the owner has not mentioned about the amount of loss they are experiencing or is this loss from all the stores or just one store. It is possible that the losses are experience by few stores and due to this the average has fallen down and it is showing that overall business is at a loss. It could also happen that due to inflation, people are cutting back on their expensis, so many people are not renting videos from the store. So, the owner should consider all these facts before coming to a final conclusion.

Secondly, the owner mention that one of the store in downtown Marston where able to reduce the operating cost by closing the shops early. It could happen that the people in that area do not go out after 6:00 P.M, so there is no need to keep the store open. We cannot assume that this would be same for all the types of neighbhourhood where the stores are located. It could also happen that people in other locality usually visit the video rental stores late night, so by closing the store early would led to loss of business and this would affect the profits.

Furthermore, the downtown Marston store was able to reduce the cost by eliminating all movies which were more that five years old. It could happen that the store in downtown Marston took a survey and from which the store owner came to know about the perferances of its customers. The preferances can change from area to area and same could not be assume. It could happen that customers of other stores of Movies Galore are fan of old movies and they do not want to watch the latest one. So, by blindly following what the downtown Marston store did would be a risky move for the business.

In conclusion, the owner of Movie Galore should conduct a survey which should be done area wise, and by doing this the owner would be able to come to know about the perferances of the customers. According to the liking of the customers, the owner can think of various ways to reduce the cost of operation which would be suited for a particular store and not in general. If, the owner starts closing the shops early and eliminating the old movie stocks then it would affect the profits, so a proper cost analysis should be perform before coming to any final judgement.