The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of

video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses

at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special

bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our

store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at

6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies

released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without

jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend

implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Accoding to the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores, by closing their shop early and reducing old stock will help to increse their profit. This conclusion is made on the basis of the last month's decreased expenses cost of their store at Marrston because of early closing and removal of five years old stock. This recommendation can be evaluated accurately if the following two questions can be answered correctly.

Firstly, is the store at Marston compareable to the other nine stores? How can anyone say that the application of same remedy won't do the reverse rather their expectations. It may possible that the operationg cost of the store in Marston had previously higher, maybe the operating cost of that store is more after the sunsets because of the high electricity expenses. It can also be happen that the people of all the locality are not same. For example, the People in Marston may return earlier than any other cities whereas people of the rest of the store's cities are available to buy video after working hours, maybe around 8 pm to 10 pm. There is a possibility that the time of daylight hour is more in the rest of the cities than Marston. If any of these scenarios are true, then it is not possible increase the profit by closing early rather it may cause the reduction of profit.

Secondly, how can it be said that the demand of five year old book will reduce? There is a people of different age in different city. It is very natural that the people like to recall their childhood memories by wathching the video they used to watch during their childhood. For example, if an old man come to any of the nine stores, who reduced the five year old videos, asked for a video from the year 1999, then the video shop owner will fail to provide it. It may hamper the fame of that store. They may be famous because of their huge collections of videos. If they reduce the number of collections then it might be possible that they will lose their customer, which will reduce the profit. So, how can anyone say that reducing old collections will help in collecting more profit?

Finally, the recommendation by the owner is made based on some unwanted assumptions so it can't be said accurately that this recommendation will help to increase the profit of the owner. This can be evaluate accurately if the author can provide some data in the form of a graph of pie chart on the percentage of dependency of profit on expense cost and other factors that mentioned. Any suvery data may also work to evaluate it.