Educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Education is one of the five basic needs of human beings, which need to be filled up to live a decent life. Education can be obtained from an educational institution. Although there are many ways to learn, to get basic education, but an educational institution will help students to earn a degree which is important for getting a job. The prompt is stating that educational institution can play an important role to help students in choosing their path for future through which the students will be successful. In my opinion, I mostly agree with this statement that educational institution should encourage students to pursue their future study in the field of their interests because of the following two reasons.

Firstly, one of the important motives of getting educated is to get a good job in future. After completion of degree if anyone don’t find a job with a reasonable salaries then, they will be depressed. And it will affect the mental health in the long run, which should not be encouraged. And a good paid job is difficult to find when anyone don’t have a degree from any reputed educational institutions. For example, the rate of unemployed youth is increasing gradually in the job market of Bangladesh because the students are not getting chance to gather knowledge in the most demanding fields. If a student in their college time choose social science as a major according to their interest but then after completion of study they won’t find a suitable job because of the lack of the opportunities in that field. If educational institution help them to choose demanding subject like Information Technology (IT), which has a big job market in Bangladesh and abroad also. Then the students can find a good job in a reputed country. So, why not educational institution should not limit them to choose the most demanding subject to get a better future.

Secondly, when an individual job market is increasing then there will be needed more resources to grow that field wayward. For instances, in the job market of USA the demand of transportation Engineer and Environmental Engineer is high comparing to Structural Engineer. Transportation projects are getting more funds and providing full-funded scholarship to the international students from different parts of the country. In such case if any student choose Structural Engineering as a major in his/her final year then the probability of getting fund will reduce comparing to Environmental and Transportation Engineering. And the job market of USA will be in lack of resources to work on various projects. So, it can be said it is necessary to encourage student to choose subject in such a way that they could be successful and this job is to be done by educational institution.

Some may argues that students should follow their passion and dream, they should not only think about earning money. In some cases it may be true. But if anyone is passionate about anything then they could do this in their leisure time. For instance, if a programmer is an artist by passion, then he/ she could pursue his/her dream during leisure time and weekend. This is how earning money and pursuing dream will work together and people will be able to get a good and healthy life.

Finally, educational institutions play a very important role in the life of the students. It can shape their life in a successful manner or as a looser. So, educational institution should encourage their students to choose the best field which will help them to get a successful life.