The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper.

"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend —

the city-run public schools — comes from taxes that each city government collects.

The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education.

For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms,

Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools — even though both cities

have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in

public schools than Blue City residents do."

According to the letter that appeared to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper, it is stated that the regions of cities differ regarding budgetary priority given to public education. This argument is made based on the assumption that most of the students attend the city-run public school and some examples were shown to support this statement. However, before this statement can be evaluated the following three questions need to be answered.

Firstly, is the authenticity of the statement of attending most of the students- the city-run public school checked? It may possible that there is no report or data that can be used to make this statement that most of the students attend the city-run school, which is funded by government collects. Perhaps, most of the students attend private schools for better opportunities. For example, it can be possible that the students of the Blue city are preferred to join private schools, and so the number of students attending city-run schools is not comparable to Parson city's students. Blue city's residents may have more money to spend

on their children's education. If any of these scenarios are true, then how can anyone say that region's cities differ in the budgetary priority to public education?

Secondly, can it be said that region's cities differ just by comparing the two cities scenarios? It may possible that this region has more cities and Blue city and Parson City is two of them. But based on the scenario of these two cities the whole regions scenario can not be determined. Perhaps, there are more than 10 cities that are spending money for their public schools as Parson city is spending. It can also be possible that the Blue city is already developed and doesn't need more allotment

for their public schools. If any of these cases are true, then it can't be said cities are different.

Thirdly, can it be said that the number of the same residents indicates the same number of students? It can be possible that the number of residents is the same but the number of students is not the same. Perhaps, Blue city has more adult people compared to Parson city. If this is true then less allocation for public schools does not mean that they are different in the context of budgetary priority to public schools. Maybe the ratio of students to the amount of money allocated is the same for

both cities.

Finally, the differences between region's cities are considering a budget allocation to public schools based on some unwanted assumptions. However, this statement can be evaluated if some data or statistical analysis can be provided in the form of a graph or pie chart, any survey data may be a useful source to justify the statement.