Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? After completing high school, students should take at least a year off to work or travel before they begin studying at a university. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Students start their studies with school, then high school, and university, and then they are expected to get a job or higher studies. Everything that is done by following chronology, will result in a great achievement. The prompt is suggesting that after high school, students should get a break at least for a year before they step into the next step of their life. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with his suggestion of taking a year gap after high school because of the following two reasons.

Firstly, taking one year gap will be a waste of time for the students. For example, Students complete their high school by the age of 17 or 18 years and then they get admitted into universities. One year gap between their educations, will delay their graduation. It will affect their whole life. In many countries for example, Bangladesh the completion of Bachelor’s degree takes some time more than 5 years because of ragging, politics and there are many more reason behind this. The lengthy graduation life will result in delay of every process. For girls, marrying and then having baby in the right age is important for their health. But this one year delay may impact everything after study. Many students want to do PhD, this is again a lengthy process. By the end of the PhD students will be almost crossed their middle age and become old. So, how can we suggest to take a one year gap and make this prolong educational life more length.

Secondly, gap between a sequences of studying process may hamper the study of many students. Many students can get distracted from their tract for this one year study gap. For example, if a student take a study gap then he will be doing nothing for this whole one year period. Study found that the people that spend more time doing nothing productive loss their critical thinking ability by 25 percent. So, when the students start his/her university education, he may find it difficult to keep pace with the education systems. Moreover, there is a possibility that using that gap the students will involve into violent works like drug dealing. Another study found that most of the drug dealer use young students to make their work easier because students are out of the doubt list of polices. So, this is how the students will ruin their future using that unnecessary study gaps.

Some may argue that study gap is important for students to find out the way they want to study. This is true in many cases but the disadvantages of this study gap has control over its advantages. Students should not be allowed to distract from the continuation of the study.

Finally, study gap will waste the time and impact the continuation of the studying process. That is why students should not be encouraged to take a long gap between high school and university, but a small break can work tremendously to get a new meaning of life and to find out the topic of one’s interests.