Claim: When planning courses, educators should take into account the interests
and suggestions of their students.
Reason: Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what
they are studying.
Education is important for every human being, not only for getting a better job but to meet their thirst for knowing any topic.
Educational institutions make it easier for the students to get into focused in any specific field.
The claim mentioned in the prompt claiming that student should be involve during selecting the course
they would learn during their college or draduation days. And as a reason of student's involvement only their interest is mentioned.
In my opinion, I strongly agree with the claim and mostly agree with the reason because of the following two reasons.
Firstly, educators are following a conventional and traditional approach from ages to select courses and teach their students.
If the students are involved or engaged in the course selection process then they will come up with new ideas of teaching.
For example, educators are teaching the same courses for many years for every years, for every students. When this students get a chance to select
their thesis topic in their undergraduation days, then the students get involved in choosing their topic to continue their research work.
And from this research work experience, some students get a chance to involve in many higly important projects, some students will pursue their Ph. D. degree
on this topic further. So, it can be said that students involvement in selection the courses they would be taught in futute will help students to
better understand the ideas and then learning will be interesting
Secondly, When students are involved they will feel the priority they are given to. Usually educators decide the topic or subject the studnets should take
depending on marks of exam. Then the students feel dishearten and go away from study. For instance, when a student want to study science in his/her early school days,
then depending on his/her poor marks in evaluation exam the students are asked to take rather huminities or business studies. In this case the students will feel
demotivated and won't continue to study in many cases. But in stead of forcing if they are asked about their interets, then the student will feel that their teacher's
are prioritizing them and getting involved in the process will help them to choose their interested field to continue their study. So, giving priority is an
another way to keep their or grow their interest in any specific field of work.
Some may argue that student then will not get basic education if they will choose only their interested subject. In some cases it may be true but if they can study
on the field they are interested, then it will help them to learn more quickly. With time their focus will increse and using that extra time they will
learn some basic courses.
Finally, student should be involved to engaging them in the study porcess they are part of for their progress and the reason is not just to motivate them but also
help them to feel their importance to their teachers. In both way studying will be more fun, interesting and engaging. In the long run, it will help them to get a better
future.