College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Availability of jobs depends on the demands of people in that particular time. Job market is always changing and based on the market the necessity of people for different fields are also changing. And the field that students will work in future for earning money slightly depends on the subjects or fields will be chosen in their college life. The prompt is suggesting that college students should try to find their their college life. In my opinion I mostly disagree with this suggestion that college students should bound their opportunities to choose their favourite subject or the paths they want to walk through because of the following two reasons.

Firstly, job market is not always a constant thing. It is a vulnerable market and based on the circumstances that the world is facing in that specific time period. For example, if any student is learning social science because it is a high paid salary now, that doesn’t mean that it will always remain a high paid job. Civil Engineering is the most ancient form of engineering. This was the highly preferred subject by most of the students few years ago. But now it is true in case of civil engineering. The market and demand in the field of civil engineering is shared with other form of engineering subjects such as electrical engineering, computer science engineering. So, if any college students is choosing their subject based on current job market then in future they may suffer. And they will be paid beyond their expected salaries. So, how can anyone say that students should choose subject only based on job market?

Secondly, success or establishment in any field depends on the interest of people in that specific field. For example, a student like to draw but his parents are forcing him to choose computer engineering because they are the highest paid job in their country. But the child is not interested in learning programming language rather than he will like to draw. In future he will end up by being a boring programmer without any interest in his work and his life will be miserable. He will work against his minds wish just to earn money for himself and for his family. We cannot call a person successful in that case. And invention, success always depends on the level of interest of that person in that particular person. So, if job market is not coinciding with their interest it does not mean your interested will not gain the market one day.

Some may argue that they may not find job if they don’t follow the job market statistics. But job market statics may help them to earn more money but they can not be successful as person. And eventually it will hamper his/her personal life and mental health. So, college students should focus on their interest while choosing their subject.