Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being

of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only

responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much

money as possible.

Government of a country can not alone operate the whole country and that is why corporations are created to look after the partial portion of any city. The people who works in city corporations are also the representatives of government of that country. The city corporations people have some power since they are looking after the welfare of the people of that area of that city. The prompt states that the general view of the local people considering the image of the city corporations is not same, some have positive views of people who are working in the city corporations whereas, some belive that city corporations is working under corruption. In my opinion, I mostly agree with this statement that both of the views of general people exists because of the following two reasons.

Firstly, a country is divided into different state, divisions, districts, city corporations based on the volume of the locality and population of that country. Government alone can't do the development of the whole country. And here comes the responsibilities of city corporations. They do as the government want for the welfare of the people and always follow the constitutions of that country. For example, in a democratic country like Bangladesh, every divisions has two city corporation, and every city corporations has their elected mayor who is the representative of that city corporations. Dhaka has South and North city corporations. During winter season the prevalence of Dengue has increased in Dhaka as it is a tropical country and lots of people die every year. The North city corporation mayor will look after the condition where and how should this spreading of Dengue can be prevented. It is not possible for the Government to take care of each and every details of the people. Then the city corporations will work to solve the problems that troubles the people. So, this is the reason that people believe that corporations are responsible for the welfare and development of the people, socities and the respective environment.

Secondly, city corporations has the power to take some actions during emergency and sometimes they can misuse it. For instance, if the state government has alloted money for the improvement of the streets and roads of any locality and sent it to the city corporations. If corrupted mayor exists then he will try to somehow ignore the development of the road and won't use the whole amount of the alloted money for the constructions of new road. With the worst condition of the road people will suffer and sometimes it will be danger like taking lives by the damaged road. And this corrupted corporations are the representatives of growing people's belief of existing bad city corporation those who will only take money but won't do any development.

Some may argue that how can be corporations play both the positive and negative role. But this is true that there is always something bad behind every good things, and city corporations are not out of this. The ratio of the good and bad people may vary but there is always bad and good people in the society.

Finally, good deeds are getting noticed when there is also some evil workers who tries to lower the good works. But existence of both people help people's to make their own views and this is applicable for every field. There is people in the corporations who always thinks about the welfare of people and some also think about the reverse.