The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

According to the writing appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing, to reduce the number of on-the job accidents and to increase the productivity of the workers, work shifts should be shorten. The vice president came into this conclusions based on the experts saying that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are the contributing factors for on-the-job accidents. Another reason for this conclusion is that the thirty percent more accidents in Quiot Manufacturing than Panoply Industries plant. However, before this suggestion can be evaluated accurately the following two questions need to be answered.

Firstly, is it justified to compare the Quiot manufacturing and the Panoply Industries plant? Panoply Industries Plant has one hour shorter working hour than Quiot Manufacturing, may be because they had more worker to distribute the work. It may possible that both the factory does not produce same element and both doesn't need same amount of time. It can be possible that the proportion of work in the Panoply Industries plant is lower than the Quiot Manufacturing. Perhaps, the instuments or the machine used by both the company are not the same. It can also be possible that the production rate also varies. For example, if the Panoply Industries Plant is a bankrupted plant then the company will have no contract to fill up. If any of these scenarios are true, then how reducing working time will increase the productivity of the workers?

Secondly, is the experts saying is applicabe for the Quiot Manufacturing? There is a possiblity that the experts are saying right but for a specifc type of work. The experts may come into this conclusion that fatigue and less sleep are the contributing factors for on-the-jobs accidents based on a few comapny. It can be possible that their survey doesn't include any Quiot Manufacturing. For example, the workers of the Quiot manufacturing had enough sleep time and they don't have to do any repetitive job. May be there is an opportunity to show their creativity rather than doing same job for long time. It also can be possible that the worker have enough time to sleep. So, the working hour reduction might not be helpful to make the workers more productive.

Thirdly, is there a possibility that the machine that used by Quiot Manufacturing is not that well-known to the worker? May be the macine are very new to the worker and they are still learning how to use it. For example, if the machine are very intricate and tough to use, then they might fail and lost their life because of their poor knowledge how to protect them from the danger. Perhaps, there is not enough experts to help the workers to learn the working principles of the machines. If these scenarios are true then increasing working shift won't help to reduce the on-the-job accidents.

Finally, the suggestion of shifting working hour for increasing productivity and for decreasing the rate of accidents is based on some unwanted assumptions. This suggestion can be evaluated accurately if the author can provide some data in the form of a graph or chart. Any survey data may also be helpful to evaluate the suggestion.