The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava. "The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

From the recommendation suggested by the committee that working for the planning of the ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava, it can be said that the committee will have sufficient money to fund the city facilities and programs used primarily by adults. This is concluded by the committee because of the decreasing birth rate of that city. However, before this suggestion can be evaluated accurately following three questions need to be answered.

Firstly, how can anyone say that the birth rate of the city Calatrava will keep decreasing in the following years also? It may possible that the last year birth rate will be limited to that year only, it won’t be followed for the following years. For example, last year any pandemic came out and because of this pandemic, the pregnant women were more affected rather than general people, and newborn babies were dead. The pandemic may not be that harmful for the succeeding years. It also can be possible that the source of the birth rate publisher is not accurate. They may find the rate from surveying a narrow area or few of cities may be. If any of these scenarios are true, then how can anyone say that based on that one year’s birth rate the budget for facilities can be increase?

Secondly, does the budget allocated for education should depend on the birth rate of that City? It may possible that the previously allocated budget for that country was not enough for proper education. If number of student is reduced by any means, then the extra budget can be used for the quality education of limited students. It may be possible that the residents won’t require any facilities by cutting budget from education. The adult residents are parents of those student, so they might want more extra allocation for their children’s education. In that cases, there won’t be sufficient money to use for adults programs and facilities.

Thirdly, how can it be said that the number of adults will increase and will they be interested in the adult facilities and programs? It may possible that the children birth rate does not effect the number of adults in that city. Perhaps, the number of adults will decrease because of various diseases such as diabetes and heart problems. It can also be possible that the adults won’t be interested in the adult program and facilities. It may possible that the adults want to spend money on athletes rather than adult program. In that case, there won’t be enough fund to support adult programs.

Finally, the suggestion of allotting more money for adult programs and facilities is based on various unwanted assumptions. This proposal can be evaluated accurately if the author could present more reliable data may be in the form of a statistical survey or pie chart.