Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People who develop many different skills are more successful than people who focus on one skill only. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny that having a skill is very beneficial. Nowadays, a lot of people strive to acquire at least a skill as it is an essential trait that is looked out for. If I were forced to choose, I would definitely disagree with the prompt which states that people who acquire a lot of different skills are more prosperous than people with one skill for a number of reasons, and I will develop these ideas in subsequent paragraphs.

First, people tend to patronize someone that is known to be very good at just one particular skill than someone who is known to have numerous skills. This is because they tend to believe that a person who takes time to master just a particular skill is well grounded in it than someone who is developing a lot of skills. I remember when my most cherished pair of shoes from my shoe collection had a fault. The heel pulled out and I needed to fix it but I was very careful in choosing whom to take the shoes to so as to fix it. I didn’t want to give it to just any shoe repairer because it requires a very skilled cobbler to fix the heel back in place without it being obvious that it was repaired and this will make me lose the shoe completely and I didn’t want that to happen. A friend of mine then suggested to me two cobblers that were both very skilled at fixing shoes. One of which is entirely focused on fixing shoes and the other, aside from fixing shoes, also sew clothes and does carpentry. I decided to take my shoes to the cobbler that is only focused on fixing shoes because I felt he would do a better job than the other cobbler. This goes on to say that people will prefer to patronize someone that has developed skill in a particular thing more than someone who has numerous skills in different areas and hence the one with just a skill will be more successful.

Also, it is much easier to be a professional at just a skill than at numerous skills. Going by the saying: Jack of all trade, master of none”. It is unarguable that a person who tries to develop a lot of skills ends up not mastering any one of the skills perfectly. On the other hand, a person that is focused on developing just a skill will end up being a professional in that skill and people will naturally prefer to consult a professional. This translates to having more clients and being more successful.

In light of the above-mentioned reasons, I strongly disagree without any modicum of equivocation that having numerous does not make one more successful than having just a skill.