Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented

Corporation, by definition, is a legal entity created by individuals, stockholders, or shareholders for the purpose of making a profit. I, therefore, agree with the first part of the prompt which says that companies have a duty to support their host communities and the environment and are not only concerned with making money. The reasoning for this position is listed below.

Firstly, companies that desire a smooth run will empower the youths of the society they are located. When community members are empowered by companies in their community, it gives them a sense of belonging and as such will go to any length to protect the corporation in times of crisis which could be a communal clash. On the contrary, if the company had neglected the people of the host community and focused only on making a profit, then no one will be willing to protect the company in times of crisis.

Secondly, most industrial waste is harmful to the environment, and as such the companies will need to follow proper regulatory measures in the disposition of their waste so as not to contaminate the environment. For example, one of Nigeria's business tycoons, Aliko Dangote runs his refinery in a community in Ogun state. In addition to giving preference to the indigenes of the community during recruitments, he also yearly sponsors the outstanding students in that community as well as taking proper disposition measures in disposing of its waste to be safe for the environment. inevitably, such actions give the people of the society a sense of belonging and strive to ensure the company runs unperturbed.

Thirdly, corporations whose focus is on maximizing profits alone run at the detriment of their host community as it is in no way adding value to the lives of the locals but had rather taken up their land and pollutes the air they inhale. in some cases, waste from these companies leaks into water bodies, contaminating their water and killing water lives.

In summary, corporations should take responsibility to promote the well-being of their host society rather than being focused on maximizing profits to other people's detriment.