Company X has just switched to a 4-day workweek, mandating that employees work 10 hours per day from Monday to Thursday instead of 8 hours per day from Monday to Friday. Although the policy is new, Company X claims that the policy will help to increase profits by shutting down offices on Fridays and to boost employee morale by reducing commuting time to and from work each week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument.

Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are

for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it may be true that the policy will help Company X increase profits by shutting down offices on Fridays and also help boost employee morale by reducing commuting time to and from work each week, the argument does not make a cogent case for an increased profit and a boost on employees morale by working 4 days in a week. It is easy to understand why company X would want to cut down on expenditure and as well please their employees, but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions and thus, not strong enough to lead to an increased profit and happy staff.

Firstly, it is assumed that profit will increase. since profit is expenditure subtracted from revenue, for there to be an increased profit, Revenue will be greater than expenditure. It is therefore not clear enough on how the company intends to make more profit by shutting down on a full working day. Mandating workers to work 10 hrs per day instead of 8 hrs per day may not necessarily increase profit. for instance, employees might be overstretched at the end of the 8 hrs making them docile in the remaining 2 hrs, as a result not able to make additional profit. Hence, rendering the assumption unwarranted.

Secondly, it is assumed that shutting down on Friday will boost employees' morale. More information is needed to ascertain this claim. It could be that by increasing working hours, employees that have other engagements like recreational activities will be tampered with, also family time will as well be affected as they will need to leave their homes earlier or return later or both and such employee will definitely not be happy. For these reasons, this assumption is proof invalid.

In conclusion, In as much as reducing expenditure to maximize profit and also having happy staff are crucial in the development of any enterprise, however, the author's argument is not significantly persuasive.