Schools should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Adulthood outside the shores of a school is an entirely different world and a different learning process from what is acquired from school. And as such, recent graduates struggle within the first few years of graduation trying to learn the required non-academic skills to enable them to compete effectively in the labour market. Therefore, I agree with the prompt that schools should prioritise preparing students for non-academic adulthood as evidence suggests that the development of non-academic skills is more effective when teaching is integrated into the regular school curriculum and staff receive training.

Firstly, Non-academic skills exist alongside academic knowledge and can include empathy, communication, and resilience. Schools should integrate the development of non-academic skills into their curriculum for effective development of these skill sets and teachers be trained to always spot and child lagging on any of these skills and to take the best possible approach to help them imbibe it.

Secondly, the overall importance of these skills necessary for survival in the labour market cannot be overemphasized. For example, a student might be brilliant and able to solve maths questions accurately but struggles to communicate with his fellow classmates. Such a child after school will find it difficult to relate with other people which I a crucial skill for survival in the labour market. As such, non-academic skills should be integrated into the regular school curriculum so as to be taken seriously.

In conclusion, as stated above, the importance of preparing students for the non-academic aspect of adulthood cannot be overemphasized school administrators and teachers should be trained on how best to inculcate these skills in the students as it is significant in their survival after school.