Schools should do more to prepare students for the non academic aspects of adulthood Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take In developing

Schools should not be limited to academic activities in the development of students, focusing on non-academic activities is also very important in the overall development of students.

The skills learnt from those non-academic activities could contribute in preparing them for adulthood and life as a whole. Some of these non-academic activities might include sports, debate clubs, drama, dance and music clubs among others. Skills such as advocacy and communication could be learnt in the debate club, qualities such as resilience, teamwork could be learnt from sports. All of this qualities are important for adulthood.

Also the performance of a student in non-academic activities could help in making a better career decision. For example a student that is very good in the drama club will probably do well in theater arts, a student that dose very well in the game of football will do very well as a professional footballer. In some schools, football club is formed in schools as a means attract more children to go to school.

It might be argued that these non-academic activities will serve as a distraction to the students, as their attention might be divided. While these might be true, the importance and advantages of non-academic activities on the overall development of a student is more than the disadvantages.

In conclusion, schools should have more non-academic activities so as to prepare students more for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.