Schools should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation

and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, be sure

to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

The overall development of students in school paves the way for them to succeed in life. If we zoom out and look at the bigger picture, life is not just about academics, it revolves around a number of different factors which include addressing real-life problems, good communication skills, elegant personality, work ethics and values, dealing with success and failures, and determination to achieve goals. The schools should not only focus on teaching how to work, but also stress on how to make a living out of it, so as to make everyone self-dependent in their life. In my opinion, I strongly believe that the learning provided in schools should focus more on non-academic aspects of adulthood for three reasons.

There is a reason why the age group of people going to school is termed as "learning age". This is the time span where the children are raw and the teachings in school molds them into a shape which they are going to pursue throughout their life. For instance, if a student learning in school just focuses on the academic part and his learning mainly includes the bookish knowledge and exam-oriented studies, then he might contend well in the school, but as soon he steps into the real world, he is prone to failures. This is because the world doesn't require people who can write perfect grammar or who can solve complex mathematics on finger-tips, instead it requires people who can address the issues faced by society, using the knowledge he has acquired in school. The above example illustrates that the schools should not only focus on books but also emphasize how to apply them in real-world scenarios. This will prove to be a boon for an individual in his adulthood as well as contribute to making the world a better place to live.

Learning academics can make you best in knowledge, but not the best in business. For instance, consider a business school teaching MBA to a pool of students and they mostly focus on the academic part and not much about the overall personality development, public speaking skills, ethics and values of the workplace, etc. In this way, they might flood out a number of gold medalists into the market every year but because of the lacking skills, the degree holders would not be able to stand out when it comes to real-life marketing. A person may build the best product for the crowd, but if he doesn't know how to interact with the crowd and how to sell that product to them, that high-graded degree won't hold any water. This example suggests that the schools should prepare their scholars for every aspect of life so that they don't have to suffer in their adulthood.

The world is now rapidly shifting its focus on entrepreneurship. According to the studies conducted recently, all the developed, as well as developing nations in the world, are giving more attention to creating job creators rather than job seekers. But, to be an entrepreneur, to run a business successfully, one needs to be a good strategist, he should pursue the qualities like finance management, good communication skills, dealing with other employees of the business, handling all the ups and the downs coming in between, etc. All these traits are not a part of academic studies. Hence, considering the given example, schools need to consider all these aspects in their teachings, so that they can have a heavy number of unicorn founders on their achievement board.

Of course, some may argue that academics are more important in schools as only the personality and moral values of students would not let their work stand out anywhere. However, it doesn't answer the fact how all these skills are important for a person in order to succeed in life and to achieve their goals. Schools are the most fundamental in establishing this foundation for their students. Hence, they should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.