A recent study reported that pet owners have longer healthier lives on average than do people who own no pets Specifically dog owners tend to have a lower incidence of heart disease In light of these findings Sherwood Hospital should form a partnersh

The argument that ownership of dogs as pets have longer, healthier lives and reduces the risk of heart disease may seem tenable and logical at a first glance. However, a more closer look will reveal that this argument is fundamentally flawed and unconvincing.

Firstly, the author based his assumption on a study, the manner in which the study was made is not provided. What mode of study was adopted and who are the people that participated in the study? The age bracket of the people, the sex of the people that participated in the study. All of these are not provided by the author.

Secondly the author based his assumption on the fact that when a person own a dog, his risk of having a heart disease is reduced. There are a lot things that can be done by a person to reduce heart disease, like good diets, exercise, rest, among others. There is no link between dog ownership and all the things mentioned. The author did not provide enough evidence that links dog ownership to a good heart condition.

The author further states that the partnership between Sherwood hospital and Sherwood Animal institute will improve Sherwood Animal Institute publicity, the author assumed that the hospital recommendation will lead to more patronage and publicity for the Sherwood Animal Institute, while this may infact lead to more sales and publicity, the evidence provided by the author is not convincing enough. The patients and clients of the hospital might decide to buy their dogs somewhere else, except where it is clear that Sherwood Animal Institute sells a particular breed of dog that is more effective and can only be found there.

In conclusion, the authors argument rests on unsupported assumption and is thus unpersuasive.