A recent study reported that pet owners have longer, healthier lives on average than do people who own no pets. Specifically, dog owners tend to have a lower incidence of heart disease. In light of these findings, Sherwood Hospital should form a partnership with Sherwood Animal Shelter to institute an adopt-a-dog program. The program would encourage dog ownership for patients recovering from heart disease, which should reduce these patients' chance of experiencing continuing heart problems and also reduce their need for ongoing treatment. As a further benefit, the publicity about the program would encourage more people to adopt pets from the shelter. And that will reduce the incidence of heart disease in the general population.

Merely based on the unfounded assumption and dubious evidence, the argument draws the conclusion that adopting pets from the shelter could reduce the incidence of heart disease in the general population. To substantiate this conclusion, the arguer points out that a recent survey reported pet owners to have longer, healthier lives than people who do not have pets. At first glance, the arguer’s argument appears to seem somewhat convincing, but the further reflections reveal that it omits some essential concerns which should be addressed in the statement. In my point of view, the argument suffers from many logical flaws.

Firstly, the argument observes a correlation between the fact of owning pets and pet owners tend to have a lower incidence of heart disease, thus concludes that the former is the cause of the latter. However, the argument fails to rule out other possible explanations for pet owners of having longer and healthier lives. For example, the pet owners who could afford to have pets live more wealthy lives than people who don’t have pets, thus they might receive better health care and the places they live might be less polluted. Or pet owners have healthier physical conditions in the first place. Without ruling out other possible factors, it is unfair to conclude that owning pets can reduce the incidence of heart disease.

Secondly, the argument claims that dog ownership can help patients to recover from heart disease. Nonetheless, even owning pets is beneficial to reduce the possibility of heart disease, it does not necessarily mean that it can help patients to recover from heart disease. After all, preventing heart disease and recovering from heart disease is a whole different story. Moreover, patients who suffer from heart disease might not be able to take care of both of themselves and the dogs, due to the lack of money and time. Also, the author need to address more evidence on keeping dogs can help patients to recover from heart disease.

Thirdly, even if adopting pets from the shelter could help to recover of heart disease, people might not tend to adopt pets for the sake of health. Despite the consideration of health, people would like to the pros and cons of having pets from various angles. For instance, people who are busying with their works might have little time to spend with their pets or people who don’t like pets might not be pleased to take care of pets, thus causing another serious mental problem.

To the finale evaluations of the argument, due to the insufficient evidence, the conclusion is unwarranted, and more investigation is therefore needed.