The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Luxury, by definition, is living way above average, having all one desires above what can be normally earned. After careful consideration of the prompt, I am in strong support that luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

First of all, the word 'competition' is not known by one that lives in luxury. Having a sense that resources are limited and as such will be given to one that is most deserving of it, is one thing that pushes us to be on our feet always. But to one who lives in luxury and convenience, there is certainly no need to have a competitive spirit when you can afford anything seamlessly or they feel they have someone or something they can easily fall back to.

Secondly, Children who grew up in affluent homes cannot relate to hardship. Hardship has a way of resetting one's mind. An average man is always thinking of what do to best or how better to restrategize in other to move into the affluent. Through this, he comes up with creative approaches which eventually might become favorable. Such a feeling of desiring more has a way of developing our critical mind and as well making us strong to face the realities of life. However, A child who lived in an affluent will grow up to think life is all bed of roses and if faced with a kind of difficulty or challenge will easily give in or want to cry out for help immediately.

Today, there are several cases of people wanting to commit suicide. On a closer look at why they attempt to take one's life, it is found they want to give in to life pressures. Someone who is living knowing that life is not always as described in fairy tales will definitely know that despite there is a cloudy day today, tomorrow could be sunny.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that exposure to luxury and convenience has a way of making us grow into weak and independent individuals.