The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it may be true that a Jazz club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise, the author's argument does not make a cogent case for an accessible loan based on a high profit. It is easy to understand why residents of Monroe will love Jazz music, but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and therefore not strong enough to lead to an accessible loan.

Firstly, it is assumed that the jazz music club in Monroe will have the local market to itself. What is the evidence that the residents of Monroe will want to club in Monroe? For example, driving 65 miles away may be part of the fun they derive in clubbing and as such will prefer going that far to the club rather than clubbing at Monroe. Until this evidence is established, the argument is weakened.

Secondly, it was assumed that Jazz is extremely popular, following the 100,000 people that attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer. It could be that 100,000 people attended the festival last year because it did not clash with any other major events. There is also a possibility that not all people that attended the festival loved jazz, they were there because they were bored and the weather was favorable to be out. Substantial evidence is required to strengthen the claim, otherwise, the claim is weakened.

Also, in line with the assumption that Jazz is extremely popular, the assumption was backed by the fact that several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe. As catchy as this may seem, it is not evident enough that Jazz musicians living in Monroe translate to Jazz being extremely popular in Monroe. For instance, it could be that the musicians find Monroe convenient to live in and not necessary because residents of Monroe love Jazz. Until it is proved otherwise, the assumption remains invalid.

Finally, citing the survey, the author reports that a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment. It is crucial to know the reliability of the study. For example, there is a possibility that people tend to exaggerate what they say in surveys. Also, another thing worthy to know is if a good number of jazz fans that spend $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment are resident in or within Monroe. It is possible that fans who can spend this much on Jazz entertainment live far away from Monroe and as such fans who live in or within Monroe spend less on jazz entertainment. Hence, further evidence is required to substantiate this claim, otherwise, the claim is weakened.

In conclusion, a jazz club in Monroe will add value to the city. For this reason, the loan could be granted. However, this author’s argument is not significantly persuasive for a loan to be granted.