In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement that imagination is of more importance than knowledge has been a bone of contention in recent times. The ability of the human mind to envision things is inexplicable and remains a mystery. For instance, a civil engineer without lifting a spade is able to envision the construction of a skyscraper with the exact dimensions and positions of its components. Likewise, a professor of Physics envisions the abstract concept of gravity and its effect on the trajectories of bodies in the solar system and elsewhere in the universe. These examples and more underscore the importance of imagination in any given academic field and the importance can never be overemphasized.

The statement tends to exaggerate the role of imagination in a majority of professions and academic fields. it asserts that imagination contributes more to the advancement of these fields than knowledge. looking back at the introduction, one could argue that without imagination that the civil engineer and the Physicist would not be able to envisage things. Hence, leads to a retarded growth and development in these fields.

However, in spite of the many assertions which favor imagination with respect to this contentious statement, knowledge remains of a greater value than imagination in the advancement of a majority of professions and academic fields.

Knowledge is the basis of learning. The civil engineer and the physics professor first acquired knowledge in their fields through education and experience to become experts in these fields. It is after one has had a basic knowledge of one's field of interest that one's imagination becomes clear and well explored. For example, without knowledge, a layman will be able to envisage the construction of a skyscraper but will lack clarity and accuracy of its components and dimensions. Conversely, the opposite would be the case with a civil engineer who has acquired the requisite knowledge of the field.

Similarly, the professor of physics applies his acquired knowledge and expertise in aerodynamics in the design of man-made flying bodies such as airplanes, rockets, and space jets. Imagination alone, irrespective of how vivid it might be, would never be adequate in the design of the body and the principle of operation of these flying bodies.

In contrast to the statement, Knowledge enhances imagination. Consider renowned scientists, the likes of Albert Einstein, Isaac Newton, Marrie Currie, e.t.c. how they made groundbreaking discoveries by enhancing their imaginations on the basis of the theoretical and practical skills they had acquired over time. These theoretical and practical skills are what distinguish experts from laymen.

In conclusion, notwithstanding the ability of man's imagination, knowledge is required for its clarity and enhancement