Do you agree or disagree with the following statement. Technology has made the world a better place to live in. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Technology has revolutionized the world. Although some would argue that technology has caused the world more harm than good, others would state that the world is now a better place to live in due to advances in technology. In my view, Technology has made the world we live in a better place because it has brought about incredible improvements in communication systems, transportation, security, medicine, etc.

To begin with, advancement in communication systems has brought about global interconnections. For example, I currently reside in Nigeria, and my elder sister works and lives in Australia with her family. With mobile phones, we communicate effectively, and sometimes we do video calls it always feels as though we are close by and this takes away the sadness I feel each time the thought of her living far away from me pops up. Whenever I miss my sister, all I have to do is to pick up my phone and place a call to her. Therefore, with this technological advancement, the world is a better place to live in as we can live separately from our loved ones in a different part of the world and still be able to communicate effectively, limiting distance barriers.

Next, the Inventions of cars, trains, and airplanes have made traveling from place to place more fun and a lot more comfortable and convenient. Last Summer, I traveled by plane to Istanbul in Turkey with my mum. The experience was remarkable in that it was my first time traveling such a distance. I was at first scared because I thought the journey will be tiring and stressful but I had a great experience and the journey was a lot of fun. I sat close to the window on the plane and looked out through the window, the view was incredible. My seat was a lot comfortable and each seat had a small TV where you can watch any program. There was also a button beside my seat that is used to call the attention of the plane hostess incase I need something to eat or drink. Before I knew it, it was announced that we are about to land in Istanbul. This journey would have taken days if not for advancement in technology, making the world a better place to live in.

Finally, advancement in medicine has brought about incredible machines to carry out surgery with ease and precision. Last month, it was discovered that my younger sister had to undergo appendicitis surgery. I was really scared and worried when my parents broke the news to me. But my parents explained to me that there was nothing to worry about as my sister won’t feel any pain during the procedure as she would be given anesthesia and that the doctor is well experienced and he knows the exact spot to operate on. With this, I felt very much relieved and my sister went for the surgery within minutes it was done and she felt a lot better. This can only be possible with advances in technology.

In light of the above-mentioned reasons, I strongly agree without any modicum of equivocation that the world we live in has been made better with technology.