Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The opinions of celebrities such as famous entertainers and athletes are more important to younger people than they are to older people. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny that celebrities opinions are usually important to both the young and the old. If I were forced to choose, I would definitely agree that the opinions of famous entertainers and athletes are more of importance to younger people than they are to older people for a number of reasons, and I will develop these ideas in subsequent paragraphs.

First, Younger people are more susceptible to new opinions than older people. Certain values of people that are of age are usually entrenched, and as a result, changing is difficult. I have witnessed this personally in my life. I usually get thrilled by a famous actress in my country. She was loved by most of the people and a lot of the citizens especially the younger generation look up to her as their role model. Consciously or unconsciously, we find ourselves trying to emulate her in certain aspects, like the way she speaks and dresses. However, my mum who is also a big fan had never tried imitating her dress sense or even the way she speaks. This goes to show that younger people are more susceptible to new opinions and can be influenced by the ideas and opinions of famous people.

Secondly, Younger people tend to be more fascinated by celebrities than older people. Social media is usually the meeting place for celebrities and non-famous people and younger people make up a greater percentage of social media users than older people. This results in younger people being more predisposed to the life and opinions of famous people than older people. I have witnessed this personally in my own life. I and my siblings are cannot have a day pass by without getting actively involved in social media. This usually gets our parents upset because they cannot seem to phantom what interests us this much about social media. On the other hand, my parents can stay months without being on social media.

Finally, younger people are generally more ambitious than older people. Older people usually are retired (career-wise) and as such are not all out seeking ideas or opinions to better improve themselves. Whereas, the reverse is the case for young people as they are actively in the quest for ways to further improve their lives entirely and most young people tend to see celebrities as their role models. For example, I am an ambitious young woman and I tend to look up to some of these famous people as a result, I tend to take up some of their opinions and effect them in my career. In contrast, my parents are retired and are in no need of such opinions.

In light of the above-mentioned reasons, I strongly believe without any modicum of equivocation that younger people are more susceptible to the opinions of celebrities than older ones.