Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Scientific research has proven to be the greatest help and the worst weapon for mankind. No doubt its pros and cons are dicey however, I am of the opinion that Government should put in place a few restrictions on scientific findings and development.

Firstly, Consider the invention of the atomic bomb for example. This is one deadly invention that can wipe away lives and properties within a split second due to its highly destructive nature. Its destructive ability is incomprehensible. However, in times of war, atomic bombs have proven to be very effective based on their ability to completely render an area lifeless in no time.

Secondly, most leading world economies today are dependent on scientific research and development. Take for instance China with minimal Government restrictions is leading worldwide in the production of phones, laptops, gadgets e.t.c. No doubt this invention contributes to China's economy and every day the younger generations are encouraged to dive into developing new research and development of new technology further forming young researchers with vast ideologies and capabilities.

Thirdly, there are a lot of genetically enhanced seeds and foods. With the increasing rise in terminal diseases, there is need to regulate genetically enhanced seeds and foods. The need for government regulations in the agricultural sector cannot be overemphasized in as much as there is a need to enhance our foods so that we can meet the demands of the burgeoning population, there should be restrictions on the level of enhancements done to avoid long term health issues.

In conclusion, scientific research and development are desirable, but there should be some form of Government restrictions to keep scientists in check to avoid inventions that are destructive.