In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement that imagination is of more importance than knowledge has been a bone of contention in recent times. The ability of the human mind to envision things is inexplicable and remains a mystery. For instance, a civil engineer without lifting a spade is able to envision the construction of a skyscraper with the exact dimensions and positions of its components. Likewise, a professor of Physics envisions the abstract concept of gravity and its effect on the trajectories of bodies in the solar system and elsewhere in the universe. Each of these examples is one out of the uncountable number of ways the human mind visualizes things.

Despite the assertions of many that, in most professions and academic fields, imagination is of great significance, knowledge remains of greater value than imagination. looking back at the introduction, one could argue that without imagination that the civil engineer and the Physicist will not be able to envisage things. Knowledge short circuits this thinking by making us expertise.

Knowledge is the basis of learning. The civil engineer and the physics professor first acquired knowledge in their fields through education and experience to be experts in these fields. It is after we have a basic understanding of our field of interest that our imagination will be clear and well explored. For example, without knowledge, A layman will be able to envisage the construction of a skyscraper but will lack clarity and accuracy of its components and dimensions which will be clear to a civil engineer based on his acquired knowledge of the field. likewise the professor of physics.

In contrast to the statement, Knowledge enhances imagination. Consider renowned scientists, the likes of Albert Einstein, Isaac Newton, Marrie Currie, e.t.c. how they made groundbreaking discoveries by enhancing their imaginations on the basis of the theoretical and practical skills they had acquired over time. These theoretical and practical skills are what distinguish experts from laymen.

In conclusion, notwithstanding the ability of man's imagination, knowledge is required for its clarity and enhancement