In order to help small businesses thrive, the government should play a minimal role in private business matters.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A small business, by definition, is a privately owned corporation, partnership, or sole proprietorship that has fewer employees and less annual revenue than a corporation. The contribution of these mid-sized enterprises to the overall economy of a nation cannot be over-emphasized. As such, I am of the opinion that the Government's role in the operation of private businesses should be minimal so as to enable them to thrive. Below is the reasoning behind my support for the claim.

Firstly, too much Government interference in start-up enterprise can be daunting, and as such lead to the discouragement of entrepreneurs. Leading world economies today are a result of the copious number of start-up enterprises which in turn empowers a good number of the populace. When Government regulations and criteria for starting up businesses are daunting, entrepreneurs are frustrated out of business and this, in turn, renders a number of the populace jobless.

Secondly, the Government should rather encourage small business owners by reducing the procedures involved in registering businesses. For example, one of the reasons America's economy is way ahead of European nations is the ease with which small businesses operate. It takes almost nothing to register a company in the United state as compared to its European counterpart. As such, more entrepreneurs are encouraged to start up and they eventually grow to lead corporations in the world.

Thirdly, in as much as I am an advocate of the Government's minimal interference in small businesses, however, the Importance of Government regulations on some industries cannot be downplayed. For example, the pharmaceutical industries require regulations to keep them in check from dishing out harmful substances in form of drugs or cosmetics to the populace. These regulations will as well increase consumer confidence in the products.

In summary, in as much as Government interference in start-up businesses can be daunting, A lasis-fair nation is certainly not the best as well.