Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Restrictions, by definition, are the act of restraining one's actions or inventions. Despite the assertions of many that Government should put a lot of restraint on scientific research and development, there should be little or no restrictions on scientific findings and development. After weighing the evidence, it is certain that there should be minimal restrictions on scientific research and development.

Firstly, Government minimal restrictions will encourage more inventions. People most times get discouraged on embarking on tasks with a lot of restrictions and as such, prevent a good number of inventions. with minimal restrictions, more people will be willing to carry out scientific research that will eventually lead to the development of an invention.

Secondly, Scientific research and development enhance human critical thinking ability. Renowned Scientists today are known for their incredible inventions and this is as a result of several research they carried out by doing so, their critical thinking ability is enhanced. However, if there is too much of Government restrictions on scientific findings, this will discourage scientist and thus there will not be a need for critical thinking.

In conclusion, it is clear that there should not be restrictions on scientific research and development as this will lead to more inventions and as well enhances human critical thinking. However, a zero restriction on scientific research and development might lead to the invention of harmful weapons that can be destructive to humans.