In order to help small businesses thrive, government should play a minimal role in private business matters.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The government involvement should be minimal in private business activities, especially the small businesses. The government is an integral part of a country and plays a great role in ensuring the pivotal of the activities of the country. As they are indulged in leading the affairs of the populace, enacting laws to provide a seamless way of doing business and many more. The role of government cannot be overemphasized, but their hands in private businesses should be minimal to ensure the efficient and effective running of such businesses, especially small businesses.

The government can set laws and rules to guide smooth running of businesses, prevent any form of mismanagement and provide funding to aid their growth. But the government, should not be actively engaged in the affairs of private businesses, they shouldn't influence the way they operate, as it tends to inhibit growth and potentials. In most developed countries, like the United State, the government play a minimal role in private businesses, it is a pure capitalist state- where government involvement is at the barest minimum. In the United State, there are lot of private small businesses thriving and succeeding with healthy competition pushing them to aim for the best and produce quality and improved goods and services.

In Nigeria for instance, unlike the United State, where the government is highly engaged in private businesses, most of these businesses are not thriving. And small businesses (informal businesses) are the bed rock of countries, as it constitutes a larger proportion of the business that operates in a country that contributes a significant percentage to the GDP, given its quantity in a state (country).

Government involvement inhibit initiative due to its long bureaucracy process that people have to observe, which discourages people from airing their opinion and ensuring the effective and efficient running of the private business. The autonomy of private businesses plays a great role in ensuring their success and ability to grow and compete with similar companies globally.

Government is the lifeline of a country and should create policies that would ensure private businesses flourish. Their involvement at a lower degree cannot be overemphasized, as it helps in making such businesses grow and become more competitive as they provide an enabling business environment for them.