A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

There should be a centralized curriculum used by schools to teach all students until they enter college. Having a centralized curriculum helps to ensure students are being taught the same thing before they enter college.

High school for instance, have three major departments which includes Science, Art and Commercial deparments. Students being taught the same thing in all high schools based on their department help to solidify and ensure uniformity among all students. The first year in college always build on what is being taught in high school, and having a uniform curriculum would prevent disparity in knowledge and ensure everyone is on the same page in their respective departments.

A uniform curriculum can serve as a great measure of comparison. The quality of what is being taught can be easily measured from school to school, since all schools adopt similar curriculum. Instiutions in charge of ensuring standardiztion in schools would be able to easily measure schools using the curriculum as a yardstick and according ranking based on that.

It also prevents any form of disparity in knowledge and ensures everyone has a common knowledge regarding a particular topic and subject. Hence, making certain general exams such as the General Certificate Exam (GRE), which is being used by most African countries and accepted in all countries, easy to set without any form of partiality and sign of favoritsm.

Having the same national curriculum encourages accountability by schhols, unlike having a decentralized curriculum. Schools tend to be accountable to their students with similar curriculum nationwide, as each student could question their school, given that they know what is being taught is similar to other schools. And if a student feels a course as being off or they are not being taught well, they can easily question their school or escalate to the board governing such issue. Such school most likely, has no option but to address that course issue because such student can decide to leave to other schools or even report the school to the institution in charge of ensuring standardization in all schools.

A nation that adopts similar national curriculum in all schools prior to college enjoys a lot of benefits that cannot be overemphaiszed and prevents any form of impartiality and disparity in knowledge.