The best way to teach- whether as an educator, employer, or parent - is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge the position.

Education is a vital tool in grooming individuals, whether you are young, old, learning is inevitable for growth and success. One of the ways people educate others is by giving feedback. Feedback is an integral part of education, providing feedback based on what has been done by considering both the good and bad is as important as helping the person. The prompt recommends that the best way to aid learning is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this suggestion and argue that teaching should involve both commendation and rebuking bad actions in a way that depicts growth for three reasons.

To begin, there will always be two sides of a coin in people's dealing with certain tasks or activities. In other words, people would always try to give their best in whatever they are doing- be it activities, actions, etc. but there would always a better way of doing things, or perhaps the individual might make mistake whilst doing the thing in question. For instance, if a newbie is being asked to conduct a due diligence for a company, and the person commence the assigned task by scheduling meetings with the client to understand their ask, such a person could be praised for being proactive. But neglecting the fact that the person did the task in a wrong way could make that action a repeated cycle. When the person could have learnt via feedback that is all encompassing (includes what the person has done well and areas of developments). The feedback could start with praises of the good stuff such newbie did with respect to the task, then highlighting areas of development could then be stated in a way that such person doesn't feel bad, rather understands what can be done better and ways of improvement. With that, don't you think the person would learn better? Because by so doing the person has learnt.

Further, even if we focus on just the positive actions and neglect the negative ones, history has made it clear that repeated mistakes are unavoidable. One of the best ways to prevent a costly mistake from happening again is by stating what went wrong and trying to take a step further by informing them of what can be done to improve it. For example, a renowned writer, professor Wole Soyinka, drafts a story and sends it out for review, if the reviewer just praises Wole Soyinka for good writing and the nice stuff embedded in the story, he would never have won the nobel prize for literature. The reviewer gave constructive feedback that included the positive things he did whilst acknowledging the fact that it could have been better and stating out what he could do to ensure it is at an optimal state.

In addition, it's realised that the people that are great today have been shaped by two things (which one can invariably say they have been taught by these two things), firstly, the good stuff they have shown and gotten approbation for, then the bad things critics have noticed, and criticized them for. Which had made them to go back to re-strategize and produce a better work. Even the government of today are being commended of the good things they do, and informed of their actions that people aren't comfortable with. Which obviously, has gone a long way in ensuring they provide good governance.

Of course, people highlighting the bad actions without ignoring it would always have its bad sides, because there is the tendency of it being misconstrued, people highlighting those negative actions in ways that are demeaning. But the good part of it cannot be overemphasized, and if we tend to focus on just the negativities that come with anything, growth will never be achieved, let alone improvement or learning or one being taught properly. Because teaching is a two-way thing that involves demonstrating the good and bad of an action being corrected.