In order for any work of art- for example, a novel, a firm, a poem, a song- to have merit, it must be understandable to most people. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

People are attracted to what they comprehend, what gives them meaning and add a sense of relief or purpose to them. A novel, poem, or song that people can't relate to has the tendency of not being famous or creating the effect it is supposed to create. In other words, the popularity of songs, novels, poems are dependent on how understood it is, how relatable it is and if it has the capacity to give relief or stimulate people's interest. The prompt recommends that the work of art must be grasped by people in order to have merit or be popular. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the suggestion and argue that the work of art need not be arcane, rather understood by people to fly or add merit for three reasons.

To begin, it is true that everything need not be understood for it to be famous,or create the intended impact or capture the attention of all. For instance, most of African songs, to be specific, hi-pop songs are usually not understood by people outside of those African countries, but they still vibe to those songs, majorly because of the beat and how danceable the song is. Nigerian songs have gone viral to the extent that it is played in almost all clubs in other countries that are outside Africa, these songs most times are not comprehensible enough as they might be sang in the local dialects of such the country in question, but these people sing it, they dance to it. It is even realised that these songs or the singers usually win grammy awards, rank the top list of songs in other countries outside Africa. This shows how songs do not have to be understood to gain traction.

However, work of art is not restricted to songs alone, it can be said that songs can become famous without people understanding the lyrics of the songs. But what of poem, what of novel, and other work of art, do you think they would have the merit if they were not being comprehended? Obviously not, people need to understand what they are reading or listening to, they need to relate with it, as this is what make people attracted to those work of arts. For example, if a writer writes a book that is not accessible to all and needs to be explained by other for people to understand it, such book would not felt, or would not capture or draw the attention of men or women. Most novels that have won the Literature Nobel Awards are novels that people have read and loved, people have given them approbation or commendation for their good work of art because they can relate, interact and engage with it. Work of art must not be done in isolation without putting into cognisance its target audience. In other words, the target audience need to be considered before indulging in any art of work.

Further, releasing work of arts that are not comprehensible or lacks the words or language that the majority of people can interact with would not have the opportunity to send across the intended message it tends to pass across to people. This is so because it lacks the capacity to be relatable or understood as it is written or done in ways not known by the target audience. Impact is felt when a work of art is done in ways that the people can access without having to have others to serve as the third wheel in explaining it. This phenomenon (principle) cuts across other aspects of life. If for instance, a policy issued by a government is not understood by its citizens, abuse is inevitable, and the goal of such policy might not be achieved.

Of course, people would always say that work of art doesn't compulsorily have to be understood for it to be prevalent, majorly belabouring on songs. However, they might tend to forget that work of art is not limited to that alone. It cut across a variety of things, and if not understood, or done in ways that would attract its target audience, it won't create the impact it is supposed to create and be of merit let alone become famous.