Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for which the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The act of trying to outclass the others in a particular setting is known as competition. Just as we have two sides of a coin, competition as its bad and good sides. In other words, competition as its pros and cons which can either mar or make one. As it is usually said, life is not a bed of roses and this life is filled with competition, as people tend to compete for any and everything. The prompt suggests that competing for high grades gravely inhibits the quality of acquiring knowledge at all stages in education. In my opinion, I mostly agree that competition limits learning in all levels of educations for three reasons.

To begin, education is an avenue which people use to transfer knowledge to another. And in every educational setting, competition is usually experienced in every level. This is not limited to the educational sector alone, competition is witnessed in every facet of life. History has made it known that competition brings out the best in one, as people tend to go outside their comforts zones to acquire the prize being competed for. During the 90s, when trade slave was predominantly the way of life, kings in African countries usually compete amongst themselves to bring in the greatest number of slaves, they go extra miles to achieve this, majorly to win the favour of the white men in the upper echelon. This example demonstrates how people put in the work to bring out the best to get the prize.

However, people tend to forget that anything that has advantages would always have disadvantages. Competition indeed is a good way to make people industrious but when considered thoroughly, it is realised that competition limits learning. For instance, if 5 students are competing to be the overall best student in a faculty, don't you think such person might likely read to pass, instead of reading to learn? Truly, reading would be done under pressure bearing in mind that he or she has others competing for the same position, learning would not be fun rather a must-do to get the stated prize.

Additionally, competition has prevented people from rendering assistance to others, teaching others and helping people to scale through the arcane hurdles of subject or topics people tag as difficult. It has made people not to lend a helping hand to students vying for similar position. It has prevented true learning that requires assistance being rendered by others. For instance, if an individual intends to get a particular score in an exam, such a person is likely to not teach any of its course mates that intend to get similar score. Such person would hoard knowledge and information majorly because he wants to get the desired high score.

Education is a platform people use to learn; competition is good as it aids to bring out the best in one, but we can't abjure the fact that competition limits learning as it prevents people from understanding the true essence of learning due to the pressure that stems from competition.