Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their family for a longer time. Which of these solutions do you think is better. Use specific reasons and examples to support your examples.

Young adults generally love to explore new things. The feeling of living without any form of restrictions is very much anticipated especially by young people growing up into adults. However, many are concerned about living independently from their parents just yet. I totally feel it is better for young people to live with their loved ones for a long time because they are not yet fully mature to stay alone and to handle life dealings themselves.

To begin with, emerging adults are not yet emotionally and psychologically stable to live away from their families. These young adults may not really know the consequences of some of their actions and these could result in them getting into bigger problems. For example, my niece who is a college student decided to live alone independent of her parents. One day, I went to visit her in her apartment only to find out that she was living with her school boyfriend. I was disappointed upon seeing this, and I spoke to her about the consequences of this action. She broke down in tears and thanked me for enlightening her. She thereafter moved back into her parent’s house where such actions cannot be tolerated. Therefore, it is better for young adults to stay for a longer time with their parents.

Next, living with our family guarantees that we eat healthy meals. Most college students living alone are usually either too tired or too busy to cook a good meal. This makes them settle for junk or buying food from food vendors which is usually expensive. Whereas, there is always a well-prepared meal to get when living with your parents. I remember when I was a college grade one student, I lived alone and I barely have time to prepare good meals. This made me settle for junk food and as a result, I put on a lot of weight. My parents were not comfortable with my lifestyle and they decided that I move back into our family house. Just within a short while after moving back into my parent’s house, I got back in shape and felt healthier.

Last, living with your family reduces the chances of falling into depression. A lot of young adults living alone are usually lonely as they are most times no one to talk to while at home. So, therefore, it is easy for them to be depressed. For example, aside from my parents and siblings, I have some aunties and uncles living with us. This makes my house very lively and there is always someone to talk to or share your challenges with. Talking to someone about your challenges no doubt eases a lot of stress.

To sum up, I can say without any modicum of equivocation that young adults should spend longer time living with their family as this will save them from making wrong decisions, help them eat healthy meals, and keep them from falling into depression.