Politicians should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals.

I believe the politicians should pursue the goals that are shared by majority of the society. Meanwhile, they are also allowed to have their personal understanding and ideals. However, we propose that the elusive ideal should not be opposed to the goal of common ground. If politicians want to achieve some elusive ideals that are harmful to most of people’s interests, then we should definitely not allow this scenario to happen.

To begin with, despite the considerable contribution to building a new China, Mao Zedong had caused a great deal of suffering to the Chinese people and the entire country due to his unrealistic ideals. In late 1950s, he launched the so-called Great Leap Forward movement with a romantic plan that China can surpass the economic power of western developed countries such as England and United States. As a result of his grave mistakes, many Chinese people are died of starvation and the economy of the entire country had also dramatically declined. Also, with the poetic vision that young people in the city should be re-educated in the rural area by peasants, millions of teenagers at that time were sent to the places far from their home and were separated from their families. Many of them spent their entire life in poor countryside's and could not get back to where they belong to. An entire generation of Chinese people lost the opportunities to receive formal education and no wonder that the entire country suffered from the decrease of economy, military and culture. It is Mao Zedong’s unrealistic ideals that make China worser and worser after 1949. We admit that Mao is excellent in combating in the war, but we could not think him as a respectful governor since he put too many personal visions instead of people’s real interests when making great decisions.

After Mao Zedong, China fortunately had one pragmatic leader, Deng Xiaoping. With less charismatic image, Deng focused on building consensus and common grounds within the Chinese people after he took the power. He realized that the most important and urgent task for Chinese people at that time was that the country needs to take an immediate action to recover from the mess and develop the economy. Through the open-door policy and the privatization of the rural economy of China, Deng successfully rejuvenated the Chinese economy and lifted millions of people out of poverty. Deng’s ideal is conducive to the common grounds at that time. By taking a more practical approach and focusing on the common grounds of people interests, he also gained more support and respect from both Chinese people and international world.

As illustrated through the stories of two political figures in the same country, we can come to a consensus that political should always make sure their personal ideals is conducive to the common ground of majority people in the country. Otherwise, the tragedies will be caused by those politicians who overlook the danger of pursuing elusive political ideals.