Politicians should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals.

In democratic society, it is obvious that politicians should follow the prevalent opinion of the general public. However, politicians might have their own goals that could go against people’s will. In regard to this issue, the given prompt contends that politicians should form agreement with the public rather than adhere to their own ideas. I mostly agree with this position for two reasons that will be listed below. However, I do concede that the latter stance may sometimes lead to desirable results.

First of all, politicians should form reasonable consensus with people because this leads to a satisfactory relationship between politicians and the general public. For instance, democracy, even if some side effects are inherent in the system, tends to create less conflict between government officials and people since under the system, politicians cannot help but conform their will to people’s thoughts. On the other hand, under monarchy, a number of revolts and upsurges took place since people’s will is mostly disregarded and the king’s opinion was prioritized. From these examples, creating a fair agreement between people and politicians results in long-lasting relationship between these two, which contributes the stability of society and people’s overall satisfaction. Hence, for this reason, it is crucial for government rulers to form common ground with people rather than sticking to their own plans.

Secondly, besides the effect of forming satisfactory and stable relationship between politicians and the general public, politicians are encouraged to form common stance with people because it is less likely to lead to making biased decisions. For instance, Lenin and Stalin, with a firm belief that socialism will save people’s lives and create a utopian society, introduced this system to Russia and established the Soviet Union. Even though people were satisfied with the egalitarian society with little wealth inequality, they started to struggle with meeting basic needs such as food and shelter because people lost motivation, which eventually led to the collapse of the whole nation. If Lenin and Stalin, instead of following their ideals, had listened to the overall stance of the general public and followed its position, then the Soviet Union (Russia) would not dramatically have been disintegrated into dust. These examples present that making biased decisions, rather than forming common opinion with the general public, is dangerous since it is likely to lead to undesirable consequences.

Admittedly, following politicians’ elusive ideals may lead to positive results in some cases. For instance, the Founding Fathers of the United States followed their own plans, rather than asking people’s opinions, when constructing the United States Constitution and the federal and states system that are still used in the nowadays US society. Even if they regarded the will of the general public as trivial and misleading, they were successful in inventing the system. This example shows the possibility that politicians’ individual plans may work sometimes.

In conclusion, for the above two reasons discussed, I mostly agree that politicians should follow the opinion of the general public and form consensus with people’s stances. However, it cannot be denied that politicians’ elusive ideas and plans may still work despite not reflecting the public’s opinions.