It is more harmful to compromise one’s own beliefs than to adhere to them.

Many people tend to waver between being flexible or being persistent and stubborn when dealing with any circumstances. The decision may differ by individuals, and there are no absolute answer to this statement. In regard to this matter, the given prompt contends that compromising one’s own beliefs is more harmful than adhering to them. I mostly agree with this position for two reasons, but I do concede that stubbornly sticking to one’s opinion may backfire.

First of all, adhering to one’s belief and goal is important because most accomplishments that a person achieves with his or her personal belief during the lifetime requires considerable amount of effort and perseverance. For instance, suppose that an undergraduate student aims to score the perfect score in the GRE. Even though it might be easy to raise the score from 150 to 160, it is much more difficult to improve the score from 160s to 170, a score that can be achieved with at most two wrong questions. Furthermore, if a high school student wants to become admitted to one of the Ivy League schools, he or she has to focus on maintaining a nearly perfect high school GPA, attaining a high SAT score, participating in extracurricular activities, and writing very impressive personal statements, and so on. This student should put a lot of time and effort persistently throughout four consecutive years in order to gain a high chance to get admitted to one of those top universities. These examples show that accomplishing something in one’s life requires significant amount of time and effort besides one’s doggedness and enthusiasm. Hence, it is crucial to adhere to one’s belief and goal and to persistently put efforts.

Secondly, besides playing a key role in accomplishing one’s goal, sticking to one’s belief is crucial on one’s life because it increases the chance of a living successful life. For instance, suppose that a person keeps changing his or her belief because of others’ beliefs. Specifically, if he or she gives up studying hard at college because one of his or her friend told him or her that people should enjoy lives and do whatever they want in the present because people only live once, this student is likely to live a miserable life at the end because his or her decisions are swayed by other people’s opinions rather than staying steadfast and clinging to one’s personal belief. If the student adhered to his or her belief that hardworking will pay off, he or she would not live a passive life that are susceptible others’ instigations agitations. These examples present that adhering to one’s belief increases the likelihood of one’s success in life or, to be more specific, the possibility that one will live an active and self-defining life. Therefore, one should have a firm personal belief in order to avoid being swayed by others.

Admittedly, sticking to one’s belief may lead to some negative consequences. For instance, Adolf Hitler, who firmly believed that the German ethnicity is the supreme one in the world, triggered World War II and massacred approximately six million Jewish people based on his belief that the Jewish are inferior. Even though it is true that he was able to occupy a high position in the government of Nazi Germany, his very belief and action produced the history’s most tragic event: the Jewish Holocaust. If Adolf Hitler were open to others’ stances and were willing to compromise some of his beliefs, this tragedy would had been obviated. This example shows that firmly adhering to one’s belief may have some repercussions in history.

In conclusion, in most cases, it is more detrimental to forego one’s own beliefs than to stick to them for two reasons outlined above. However, I do admit that, in some cases, sticking to a wrong or dangerous belief may lead to an undesirable result.