The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

The method of educating one’s child varies by culture and even by household, and there is no fixed answer what the best way teaching is. In regard to this issue, the given prompt contends that the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones. I mostly disagree with this position for two reasons that are listed below. However, I do concede that praising good behaviors or actions may motivate children to sustain these demeanors.

First of all, parents and teachers cannot correct bad actions when they disregard them, which may keep children conduct negative actions that may cause repercussions in the future. For instance, if parents do not refrain their children from eating excessive amount of candies, which is one of the negative actions that many kids display, they are likely to sustain that behavior and eventually suffer teeth cavity and other health issues. Furthermore, if children are not corrected when they use violence to their peers, they may not realize that their actions may inflict harms on others, which possibly devastates the personal relationship. In consequence, they are likely to be isolated and have a limited social scope in the future. These examples show that children are likely to persist negative actions when parents or teachers merely ignore them. This educational method is highly prone to mislead children and is hardly likely to make them grow as healthy individuals.

Secondly, besides having negative outcomes in children’s future, ignoring negative actions when teaching them is also unlikely to improve children’s academic performance. For example, in school, if teachers do not correct the students’ mistake in arithmetic, they are highly prone to make the same mistake in the future, which makes their mathematical skills stagnate. Furthermore, when learning how to play basketball in a P.E. class, if the teacher does not set right the students’ wrong positions when throwing a ball, they cannot know whether they are following the right postures and are highly prone to repeating the same error again later, which contributes to attaining a lower score in the P.E. class. These examples present that neglecting making correction to negative actions may hinder students’ improvement in academic performance, which may lower their chance of success in the future. Hence, it is crucial to be aware of whether students are doing negative actions and correct them.

Admittedly, giving compliments for positive actions can motivate students to sustain these actions, which leads to desirable results for children. For instance, if parents praise their children for finishing homework with no procrastination, they are likely to feel a sense of accomplishment and confidence and likely to keep completing homework on time. If, on the other hand, parents just say nothing about that action, children are less motivated to sustain finishing their assignments on time, which renders them less likely to persist that action in the future. These examples suggest that praising positive actions may give confidence and motivation to children, which increases the possibility of creating positive habits. Shoring up good habits is important for children because they enhance the likelihood of prosperity and success in the long term.

In conclusion, praising positive actions and ignoring negative ones cannot be the best way of teaching for the two reasons discussed above. Rather, parents and teachers should make corrections when their children make some mistakes or display wrong behaviors. However, it cannot be denied that giving compliments for good deeds can lead to positive educational effects to children.