Because people increasingly feel compelled to share their personal details online, the right to privacy is eroding.

Various social media platforms such as Instagram and Facebook have been used by many people around the world. They may upload pictures and stories via their story lines or feeds which can make relationships between others, or followers, more intimate. Regarding this matter, the given prompt contends that the right to privacy is eroding since people feel increasingly compelled to share their personal information online. I mostly disagree with this argument for two reasons, but I do concede that unwary and indiscriminate sharing of personal details may undermine one's privacy.

First of all, due to the increased security online, the right to privacy is not readily deteriorated. Specifically, as there are applications or programs that protect users from the encroachment of privacy by hackers, online users need not to be excessively concerned whether their personal details may be abused by others. For instance, various social media platforms such as Facebook and Instagram use double authentication system to secure the privacy of their users. Furthermore, even those users can set the scope of availability to others when uploading pictures or stories in story lines or feeds. To elaborate, they can set the scope as to only friends, to only friends or followers, or to all. Moreover, those social media platforms also apprise their users of whether their personal information has been leaked and misused by others if suspicious activities have been detected. This example shows that a number of functions to protect one's privacy exist when sharing personal details online. Hence, even if people feel compelled to share those sensitive information online, they do not need to be overly concerned whether their right to privacy is encroached.

Secondly, people can control the extent to which they are willing to share personal details online. It is true that many online users feel that it is necessary to share personal information online due to its convenience and efficiency. However, this trend does not mandate them to share their most private and sensitive personal details such as their social security numbers, home addresses, and phone numbers to all people. For instance, suppose that a Facebook user is willing to share some personal information with others so that his or her friends or followers can know more about him or her. He or she may upload pictures with his or her friends or some personal experience with others recently. Sharing those information with others is unlikely to erode the right to privacy since those personal information cannot be egregiously misused by others. In others words, if the user adequately eschew uploading crucial personal information online and post only personal details that are less sensitive, then the concern of whether the right to privacy is weakened would be abated.

However, if people are unwary of whether they are sharing personal details that may harm their privacy, they can be victims of the piracy of private information. If they indiscriminately share personal details such as home address, credit card numbers, and phone numbers, hackers are likely to use that information to withdraw money from one's bank account or rob house based on the home address given in the post. This unscrupulous behavior may be amenable to the erosion of the right to privacy and may lead to detrimental consequence in terms of one's property and privacy.

In conclusion, the right to privacy is unlikely to be eroded since various measures to protect people's personal details prevail in almost all social media platforms and the encroachment of privacy can be prevented by one's prudence and wariness when sharing personal details online. However, if people are not careful of sharing sensitive and important information online, then this can lead to serious consequences.