People’s behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Generally, people are regarded as autonomous beings; that is, they can make and carry out decisions in accordance with their will. This seems to be obvious in our daily lives. However, upon close scrutiny, this may not hold true. The given prompt states that people’s behavior is determined mostly by forces, not by their own making. I strongly agree with this claim for three reasons.

First of all, one of the reasons that people’s behavior is largely determined by others, not by themselves, is that they are likely to be swayed by social influence. To be more specific, they are inevitably affected by the decisions of others. Peer pressure is a typical example of social influence. When a student hangs out with his friends and finds out that most of them are drinking root beer, he is much more likely to follow that trend. Furthermore, if a student is surrounded by peers who are uninterested in having high grades in school and rather indulge in computer games, then that student is very likely to follow that behavior. These examples, which are easily observed in our daily lives, present that people are readily influenced by how others behave and act. In other words, most people are prone to assimilate themselves into their surroundings.

Secondly, people’s attitude is shaped by others because humans are socially constructed beings. That is, it is the society that molded our frame of thought; we are highly inclined to act and behave aligned with that frame. For example, in the past, almost all Europeans believed that the Earth is flat rather than spherical. But, how can they be so sure even though they have not actually observed whether the Earth is flat or round? People at that time were ingrained with the prevalent idea that the Earth is flat. As the society in the Medieval injected that thought, people had no choice but to believe that Earth is flat without critically examining whether it is true or false. This example illustrates that the beliefs and behaviors we take for granted are actually the byproducts of social paradigms.

Some people might claim that our behaviors are largely decided by our free will, not the influence of others. It is true that our free will determines our behaviors and actions to some extent. However, the profundity of social influence on our behaviors cannot be eclipsed by the significance of our free will. Specifically, our behaviors and lifestyles are heavily shaped by the culture by which we are surrounded. For instance, if I am born in the United States, I am more likely to be exposed to and more likely to frequently eat hamburgers and pizzas than in most East Asian countries, regardless of my will. Moreover, I am more prone to have individualistic thoughts rather than collectivistic ones, since individualism prevails in American society. If I were not born in the United States and born in South Korea instead, my social protocols might have been significantly different. This example demonstrates that free will plays less role in shaping one’s identity and thereby influencing one’s behaviors than social surroundings, especially with respect to cultural aspects.

In conclusion, people’s behavior is not determined by themselves, rather it is determined by others, as social influences are inevitable, and humans are socially molded beings. Even if free will might play some role in one’s decision-making process, it is the sociocultural background that determines one’s frame of thought. Perhaps, humans may be mere machines that are programmed by our society.