Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the laws, is to make as much money as possible.

It is quite common sense that big companies should take care of societies and environments as well as increase their profits. In regard to this matter, the given prompt presents two contrasting positions: one position is that corporations should be responsible to increase the prosperity of environments and societies and the other is that they are only responsible for increasing their own profits as much as they can. I mostly agree with the former position for two reasons that will be discussed below. However, I do concede that people can benefit from firms when they strive to maximize their own benefits.

First of all, corporations should focus on promoting the well-being of the societies and environments because this action increases their reputation. For example, in the United States, a majority of consumers in Walmart preferred green products that are manufactured in an environment-friendly manner to ordinary ones. That is, they are generally concerned about whether companies care about the environment and are likely to purchase products from these firms. On the other hand, when people receive an overall impression that companies including Amazon and Facebook only care about increasing their profits and neglect the prosperity of societies, people tend to denigrate and boycott them. These examples show that promoting the overall health of societies and environments is crucial for companies since it is directly related to their reputation. If they can enhance their reputation by taking this action, it is highly likely that their overall salaries will increase.

Furthermore, besides improving their reputation that directly relates to their profits, companies should strive to engage in society-friendly and environment-friendly activities due to their significant influence on societies and the environment. For example, a majority of energy uses and rubbish have been known to come from corporations in South Korea since the 21st century. On the other hand, only 10 percent of energy consumption and trash originated from households. Moreover, Samsung, the biggest corporation in South Korea, is known to occupy 7.5 percent of the total gross domestic product in the country, which indicates its considerable control of the economy. These examples present that companies should be socially and environmentally responsible because they have significant power to control societies and environments. Otherwise, the overall social conditions would be deteriorated and flag.

Admittedly, in some cases, companies should concentrate on maximizing their own profits because this act may be beneficial to people, specifically, their employees. For instance, many big tech companies in the United States such as Microsoft and Apple have overall thousands of employees, and as these corporations earn more profits, they are likely to increase the employment scale. This would eventually activate the job market and provide more work for people. This example shows that endeavoring to increase profits may be beneficial to people in terms of their employment. Were it not for the companies’ endeavor to maximize their incomes, the expansion of the job market would not have been significant.

In conclusion, for two reasons as discussed above, I mostly agree that corporations should have a responsibility to increase the overall happiness of societies and to preserve the environment. However, it should not be denied that, in some cases, companies may benefit people as they focus on making more money.