Imagination is a more valuable asset than experience.

Many people tend to believe that creativity is the key to success in various fields. That is, they typically think that having a profound imaginative skill is more important than having deep knowledge and experience in a particular area. In regard to this issue, the given prompt contends that imagination is a more valuable asset than experience with the given reason. However, I mostly disagree with this position for two reasons that will be listed below. However, I do concede that imagination can be more important since it is not restricted by conventions as given in the prompt.

First of all, having profound knowledge and accumulated experience in one’s field is more crucial than being armed with imaginative skills because imagination is based on experience. For instance, Albert Einstein was able to come up with the relativity theory since he had studied the Lorentz transformation and classical mechanics that forms the basis of this new theory. Were it not for those old theories, he would not have been able to devise the ingenious theory that significantly changed the whole perspective of viewing the universe. Furthermore, Isaac Newton was able to construct the theory of gravity due to the combination of his experience of observing a falling apple from a tree and his background knowledge in classical physics including the action-reaction law, the acceleration law, and Kapler’s theorem. If he were unaware of these past theories and did not experience the apple falling off the tree, he would have not been able to come up with the groundbreaking theory that is still applied in our real lives. These examples present that experience forms the basis of imagination. That is, experience is the prerequisite element that activates imaginative skills. If a person does not have any experience in a particular field, he or she cannot come up with brilliant ideas.

Secondly, experience enables people to do work more efficiently than imagination. For example, suppose that worker A worked longer than worker B but has little creativity whereas worker B is more creative but has little experience in the field. In this case, worker A is able to finish the given task faster than worker B because he has more internalized experience and knowledge. Worker A is able to have more spare time and strength to think about how to become more efficient or how to increase his or her creativity. On the other hand, worker B, due to his shallow knowledge and experience in the field, has to go through various trials and errors that are time-consuming and arduous. That is, worker B has no time to do more work or think about the future plan and strategy to become a better employee. These examples show that having more experience is better than having creativity and imagination since the former contributes more to increasing efficiency than the latter.

Admittedly, people who have great imaginative skills can be more advantageous than those with great experience due to their freedom from established habits and attitudes. For instance, the Civil Rights Movement in the 1960s in the United States was successful since African Americans and females were able to conceive the idealized world in which all people have equal rights and treatment from others and to come out of the entrenched convention that has ruled the past American society. If they were accustomed to conventions and were not able to come up with the new social doctrine that would revolutionize the world, then the Civil Rights Movement would have not been very successful. Furthermore, various inventions such as light bulbs and refrigerators were able to be invented because of breaking stereotypes that constrained people’s perspectives. These examples indicate that imagination, in some cases, can help people considerably improve the world and solve problems.

In conclusion, having deep experience is more crucial than having imagination and creativity due to the above two reasons discussed above. However, it should not be denied that imagination sometimes plays an important role in enhancing the condition of society and in resolving some social issues.