In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Whether imagination weighs more than knowledge in professional and academic fields has been controversial. It seems obvious that imagination may lead to creativity, which subsequently leads to innovation. It is true that imagination can lay a solid foundation for inventions, I mostly agree that knowledge and experience bears more importance than imagination for two reasons.

To concede, imagination is the source of innovations. Specifically, most inventions in history were based on imagination that was outside of common sense and knowledge. For instance, in 1980s, making connections to people from other regions or doing work at home was hardly conceivable. However, due to the invention of computer and internet, it became possible, or even natural, to contact with others without physical barriers and work online at one’s home. If scientists and entrepreneurs have primarily focused on the accumulated knowledge from the past, it should have been impossible to make such innovations that entirely changed our daily lives. In reality, they were armed with imagination and creativity to come up with new idea, which help them make those groundbreaking innovations. This example presents that it is imagination that allows people to make significant advancements in society.

However, in most cases, knowledge forms the basis of imagination. If seldom knowledge about the world exists, imagination would hardly occur. This is especially true in the field of science. Albert Einstein, who has been regarded as a highly creative and intellectual individual, was able to come up with the theory of relativity via his study of Lorentz’ transformation and observation of characteristics of light. That is, he did not come up with this remarkable new idea by his own thought. Furthermore, quantum mechanics, a theory that has been proposed by several scientists such as Schrodinger, has its foundation on Heisenberg’s uncertainty principle. The theory was basically the expansion and refinement of this principle and had wide applications on manufacturing semiconductor and electronic devices like computer hardware. Many people view the theory as crucial for modern technologies and assume that it was the byproduct of creativity. However, by inspecting how the theory came into existence, it is actually the contrary; it was created by well-organized and accumulated knowledge. These examples present that knowledge plays a huge role on imagination. Thus, in the absence of knowledge, imagination can do little.

Moreover, in most fields, knowledge yield more efficiency than imagination. Specifically, having more knowledge and experience on one’s field enables he or she to organize and structure his or her task that costs the minimum effort and time. On the other hand, having abundant imagination cannot guarantee whether someone can certainly create an innovation that leads to significant profits; in fact, this case is quite rare. For instance, tasks given in the field of accounting or finance requires workers to efficiently organize and calculate data about equity, balance, and assets. They do not require one to come up with some whole new ideas about completing the tasks. Rather, deep knowledge and insight about the field plays the main role in finishing work most effectively. This instance shows that knowledge can have a more desirable result than imagination.

In conclusion, it is true that imagination has contributed people to make numerous inventions that have changed our society significantly. However, since imagination is based on knowledge, which also helps people to work efficiently, knowledge plays a more important role in most professions and academic fields than imagination.