Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study.

Whether acquiring deep knowledge about one’s field or not may or may not be beneficial for one’s career path. Rather, having various knowledge about numerous fields may weigh more than bearing expertise. In response, it has been debated whether universities should mandate students to take a variety of courses outside of their majors. I mostly agree with the given prompt that colleges should for two reasons.

First of all, colleges should require students to take various courses, as they provide valuable resources that can be utilized in the future. For instance, suppose a person took a US history course in college year although his major was mathematics. It might seem useless to the career path or attain high scores in math courses. However, the knowledge acquired in that history course may be used to show that one has some insight into history and can be regarded as a well-rounded individual who not only knows his field but also has some knowledge in other fields. Moreover, he can use lessons learned in various humanity courses, including philosophy and literature, to interact with others in different fields. This is especially useful when one has to form a common ground and build intimacy with someone prominent in other fields. This example demonstrates that even though learning unrelated fields of study may seem meaningless and trivial for one’s future, it may act as a milestone to form a good reputation or a professional relationship with others.

Secondly, other than utilizing knowledge from other fields for one’s future, learning a seemingly unrelated course may facilitate learning in one’s field of study. As a number of fields are interconnected and interwoven with one another, having expertise in one field may help acquire knowledge in another. For example, suppose that a student has to take a philosophy course even if she majors in mathematics. It seems like those two fields are unrelated; one is natural science and the other is humanity. However, the mode of reasoning utilized in mathematics is significantly exploited in philosophy. Philosophers heavily employ logic, such as trilogy, induction, or deduction to arrive at a conclusion based on evidence. Those logics are equally meaningful and crucial when learning mathematics. Furthermore, chemistry and biology are the two fields of science that are inseparable. It is true that those two fields are somewhat different, but as one inquires deeply into chemistry or biology, he or she can realize that those two fields are almost identical. From these two examples, college majors are not completely separate; rather, they are highly likely to be interrelated to each other to some degree. Hence, it is a myopic view to disregard learning other classes because they seem totally irrelevant to one’s major.

In conclusion, it is imperative for universities to obligate students to take a variety of courses outside their majors due to the benefits it offers in the students’ future and when studying one’s field. Some people may argue that focusing on one’s field of study and thereby attaining profound knowledge and expertise is crucial for students’ success in their careers. However, acquiring expertise in one’s major and acquiring various knowledge outside one’s field are not mutually exclusive; that is, they can be accomplished at the same time. Hence, colleges may impose requirements for students to take some courses not closely related to their field; that policy does not compromise the opportunity for students to deeply delve into their major.