Because people increasingly feel compelled to share their personal details online, the right to privacy is eroding.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The advent of technological advancement and modernization in human civilization has made our life easier, secured and pompous, the misuse of such technology, however, have proven to be onerous for current population to sustain their privacy and secured livelihood. There have been many instances where use of online technology have made people connected to each other and improved the lifestyle of countless people, whereas, it has also resulted in making them vulnerable to several unknowns -- it could be kidnappers who are stalking people to extort money, a scammer who is looking to scam all the money of poor elderly people or a criminal who is seeking to take refuge when you are least secured. I believe, the use of online technology and social media, is what affects the privacy in a significant manner and not the online technologies themselves for the ensuing reasons.

To begin with, the progress of technology in terms of online medias and social platforms have exposed a lot of people at risk to unknown threats which would have been negligible otherwise in the absence of those technologies in the past. For example, currently, many instances of kids being kidnapped have been increasing rapidly, which is mostly attributed to the exposed privacy of those kids online. It is highly likely that the kid being kidnapped have been sharing his location through facebook, whereever he goes, and posting his details meeting with his freinds or family; such activities make people more prone to criminal minded people who can track them through their online activity. Furthermore, in an interview, a judge asked Sundar Pichai, the CEO of Google, whether he is able to track if the judge in present in the court or at his home. In response to the judge's question, the CEO of Google was sort of muted since he did not want to admit that they were indeed able to track the judge himself. Therefore, in current era of online medias and social platforms like facebook, snapchat, and instagram, people easily share their details online making them extremely vulnerable; this has indeed eroded the privacy of people since anyone can keep track of the online activity through these medias.

Another crucial and imperative thing to note down is that online system is prevalent in all aspects of our lives whether getting a driving license, getting a job, ordering a pizza, or making a phone call. These online activities constantly keep record of our personal biodata and thus could be used at any instance against us. For instance, whenever we order our products from a public wifi, there is always a possibility of a hacker to intercept the public wifi network and stealing our online data. The victim would be then after backmailed and extorted with a lot of money by such criminal hackers. This is merely because our personal information has been stored online and using insecure network systems have failed to prevent those hackers from gaining access to our information which should have been "personal". Similarly, we are obliged to talk about the millions and billions of dollar of money vanished from so called highly-secured banks just because their online system wasn't highly secured. Such grave examples when sharing online information has hindered the lives of people, compromised their privacy and their personal lives are omnipresent, thereby suggesting that compelling people to share their private information in online platforms could indeed erode their privacy.

Finally, being compelled to share the information online doesn't merely mean that our right to privacy is being eroded, but it is also important to take into account of several ways how online system has helped us secure our information from being lost as well. There are thousands of accidents waiting to occur in offices and homes which could destroy every bit of information that could have been the most crucial one for us. A big fire in "Singhadurbar", a governing body of Nepal, resulted in the losses of millions of records that were kept in papers; if those records were present online, it is always possible to recover them however they might have been lost. Furthermore, there are numerous cases when people have posted about their suicides in their social media, from such posts, the family members and friends have been able to save their lives. This shows that, not all instances of sharing information online erodes the privacy of people, but it is the way how those information have been used might compromise with the privacy of the people instead.

In conclusion, forcing people to share their crucial personal information online only exposes the population to external threat from which even highly secured system might not be able to deal with. Online system itself is not the culprit, it is the way of using those systems and the purpose behind them. Instead of compelling people to share their information, they should be presented with appropriate options from which they are able to choose the kind of information they are comfortable to share with. The right to privacy is for all people despite their caste, race, sex, or background and therefore, every online platforms should abide to the right. If these concerns are appropriately addressed the privacy of people can be secured to some extent.